My Yard #1: Feathered Friends

Whether I am warming up with a mug of cider or roasting marshmallows by the fire pit, or sharing a glass of wine with my husband and friends under the pergola; simply put – I enjoy my yard.  I like to watch the butterflies and hummingbirds dance from one bush or perennial to another.  I marvel at the engineering of nest building as tiny finches steal pine straw, then flit from branch to birdhouse and back.  I find it very entertaining and calming. To support my indulgence, I am always on the lookout for old bird houses or interesting salvage to assist in building one.  My husband and I have used salvaged wood, old keys, old photo frames, metal hooks, chimes – you name it – when constructing a home for the birds. We follow whimsy, yet make sure to drill the proper-sized and placed hole, a perch and allow a way for cleaning each season.

My smallest (far-left) house was a Mother’s Day gift from one of my daughters. She assembled and painted this sweet little home when she was fourteen – twelve years ago.

My husband used salvaged wood siding and a section of ceiling tin from a turn-of-century piedmont Virginia home to build one of my (center) largest bird homes.  He added an old circular photo frame (minus glass), a cast iron hook and decorative metal scrap.

We found the (far-right) country-style “chapel” in an out-of-the-way antique/junk store in coastal North Carolina.  I want to refurbish this one but hate to lose the patina and character. Love the minimalist colors.

I’d love to see what other people are using for bird houses. I’ve seen quite a lot of creative use  of salvage.

Leave a Reply

