Old Firehouse Chair Redux

Forty years ago my father brought home a 1920’s chair from an old firehouse. My mother had it professionally reupholstered twice. I have the chair now and decided to try my inexperienced hand at slip covering.

 redchair1

 

First, I pinned newspaper to the chair to make a pattern, allowing for 1/2″ seams. I took off one pattern piece at a time to cut the material, then pinned the material back to the chair. The top was sewn together first, with piping, to easily slip on like a pillow case. I sewed Velcro strips at the bottom to secure this piece.

 redchairtop

A wide strip of material was cut for the two seat sides, front and back. This was sewn to the seat piece and Velcro fasteners were added around the wood legs and arm rests.

 redchairside

redchairleg

 

I wouldn’t hire myself out, but for a first time slip cover job I think it looks pretty good.

Leave a Reply

