My Workspace: Storage Ideas

I have “stuff” stashed everywhere around my house and garage. It’s so frustrating to put things away in the middle of a project, but my family does need to be able to sit down to the table to eat. I’m SO HAPPY to start planning my new, very small – yet going to be fabulous – workspace. (More to come on this). The big issue will be to find and use creative storage.

I have plenty of wood crates and drawers, baskets and jars, industrial salvage and a nice sturdy bookcase. So HOW to use my “stuff” effectively? My husband built the bookcase behind the door in what I call the dead space. I read a lot of cool blogs and found awesome storage idea inspiration.

Sewing Storage

Saw several ideas for thread storage. So now I have a plan for my vintage letter press tray –  an idea inspiration from 26 Letters.

letterpresstray

26 Letters

But, I am torn because Troisxrien provides fab inspiration to create your own thread storage picture frame.

Troisxrien

Troisxrien

Ribbon Organization

My ribbons are all jumbled up together in one large basket. A vintage drawer or wood crate and dowel rods would sort and store ribbon properly. Close to My Heart provides great ideas and Itsy Bits & Pieces uses a vintage lamp for an unusual but appealing ribbon storage.

Close to My Heart

Close to My Heart

Itsy Bits & Pieces

Itsy Bits & Pieces

Inspiration Board

This is a MUST! I definitely need to corral all of that mess spiraling around in my head and place it on a new inspiration board. I found an idea I can use on Thrifty Decorating: old windows backed with chicken wire.  The Thrifty Challenge used a garage sale picture frame and added cork. Even vintage baby crib mattress springs (who knew?) make wonderful inspiration boards. Lolly Jane uses the crib springs and Green Eco Services uses the side rails.

Thrifty Decorating

Thrifty Decorating

The Thrifty Challenge

The Thrifty Challenge

Lolly Jane

Lolly Jane

Green Eco Services

Green Eco Services

Ephemera Storage

What to do with all of that loose paper and bits? Mamie Jane’s used a mail letter bin; and for Shabby Cottage Studio, vintage muffin tins do the trick. These Ladies have lots, and lots of ideas!

Mamie Jane's

Mamie Jane’s

muffin tin

Shabby Cottage Studio

Odds & Ends

What am I using at this moment? I use vintage and mason jars as storage for buttons, corks, beads, bits and tiny pieces.

Joanne Inspired

Joanne Inspired

…..And vintage drawers for cards and old photographs……

Joanne Inspired

Joanne Inspired

…..And floral frogs for pens, colored pencils and paint brushes…..

Joanne Inspired

Joanne Inspired

…..And old soda crates for acrylic craft paints…..

Joanne Inspired

Joanne Inspired

Well…I am in a happy, chaotic, experimenting state while planning my new, very small workspace. I feel so very lucky to finally be able to start this project. Do you have any storage or organization ideas I can borrow?

Update: I’ve finally unpacked and started to enjoy my Dream Art Workspace. Please read more about it here.

 

Have a GREAT day! — Joanne

Leave a Reply

