Milk Paint Virgin

Having never used milk paint, I’ve been waiting for the right project to try it out.  Recently, I found an old, spider-webbie, pine desk caddy/shelf in a Williamsburg, Virginia consignment shop. The proprietress was more than happy to send it home with me at a  fair price.

 

Before

Before

 

I decided to revive it a little with Miss Mustard Seed milk paint bonding agent and three coats of linen milk paint. I did not sand this piece, just applied the milk paint directly to the surface.

 

Miss Mustard Seed Products

Miss Mustard Seed Products

 

I scuffed the edges with a slightly damp scour sponge aiming for that “vintage worn” look.

 

desk caddy after close up

 

Once dry, it was sealed with MMS antiquing wax. Since they seem to go quite well with the new look, I decided to keep the original porcelain knobs. 

 

After

After

I plan to use this little caddy/shelf to organize my papers and magazines in my new (soon to be) small workspace. I think it turned out okay for my first milk paint project. What do you think?

 

desk caddy after

Have a good day! — Joanne

5 thoughts on “Milk Paint Virgin

Leave a Reply

