Junking Day-Trip Find

I spent a very pleasant Saturday junking with my eighty-year-old mother.  We found a fantastic dumpy junk store, where we spent hours combing through what some might call absolute junk.  My mom is a walking encyclopedia when it comes to identifying vintage items. She always has a story or comment that starts out, “My daddy would use this to …” or “My goodness, momma had one of these“.  It was a grand time and of course, because food is always involved, we enjoyed a fantastic deli lunch.

Rummaging around in an old box I found very nice vintage industrial cobbler and tack hammers and an ice pick (?) that I will use as an awl punch. Love the nice rich patina and rust.  Already have projects planned that will put them to good use.

hammer


I’m a sucker for wood boxes and drawers. So, of course, I picked up a few vintage sewing trestle boxes for future projects and storage.

sew boxes

 
I got a real bargain in a wooden  two-drawer desk caddy/shelf.  I am going to practice my milk painting skills on this piece. (See finished project here).

Before

But the absolute best find of the day was an early 1900’s oak sewing trestle table; complete with wood casters, iron spin wheel and four working drawers.  I can’t wait to put this baby to good use. I plan to turn un-used closet space into a sewing nook.

sew table2

Have a good day! — Joanne

2 thoughts on “Junking Day-Trip Find

    • I believe the middle tool is a vintage ice pick. I was drawn to the wood and metal handle. I don’t plan to use it in the kitchen though; just to punch holes in things. The others are chasing and riveting hammers. I want to smash old spoons flat and tap in tiny brass brads. Hmmmm. Seems like these tools will help relieve stress, LOL.

Leave a Reply

