Breakfront Desk/Cabinet Renewed

cc-knob close

A friend thought I had lost my marbles when I purchased this Craigslist very dark and very ugly hunk of cabinet. (See This Breakfront Desk/Cabinet Needs TLC). I only paid $25 USD and I thought I had found a diamond in the rough.

Before

Before

I removed and sanded the doors, fretwork (ugh!), hardware and shelving. To loosen decades of grime, I soaked the hardware in a salt-lemon juice concoction. The majority is painted in Miss Mustard Seed’s Linen and the interior is painted Lucketts Green Milk Paint and Bonding Agent. I applied MMS’s Furniture Wax once it was dry. At first I didn’t want the “chippy” look. But, now I’m kind of digging it.

cc-full view 1

cc-handle close

cc-open doors

cc-desk close 1

cc-desk clopse 2

It’s a littled warped, the veneer is scratched in places and a piece of hardware is missing. My first BIG paint project – and I loved it! This baby has a new home and purpose in my Dream Workspace. I plan to use it as storage and office.

3 thoughts on “Breakfront Desk/Cabinet Renewed

  1. Thanks! Yep, it was an enormous project. But, I learned a lot about milk paint basics. I remember hidding things in the little drawers on my Grandmother’s secretary as a little girl (which I inherited). Not sure what will go in these drawers, but am looking forward to putting it to good use. -Joanne

Leave a Reply

