Repurposed Door Coat Racks

Richmond, Virginia’s  Caravati’s Inc. Architectural Salvage is the go-to place for

ANY type of architectural salvage!

door

Last fall, I found inexpensive interior doors and door knobs at Caravati’s. Since I planned to cut them into pieces it didn’t matter that the doors be in “working shape”.  My plan was to make coat racks;  one to help de-clutter our kitchen, one for my little niece’s bedroom and one for a local school auction.

* * *

A skill saw was used to cut the doors along each panel partition. I added a top shelf, sanded and painted different details on each piece. Once the paints dried, I painted each with several coats of clear topcoat. After, I screwed vintage doorknobs or hooks on the bottoms.

* * *

I free-hand painted herbs and lettering and added vintage hooks on the one in my kitchen. It is by the outside door.

doorcoatrack3

The one I gave to my 9-year old niece for her bedroom is painted very colorful, still has the original lockset on it and  four vintage porcelain door knobs.

doorcoatrack1

For the donated coat rack, I left the original color of the door. A whimsical “good morning / good night” scene was painted using acrylics. Once all was dry, I attached three vintage ebony porcelain door knobs.

sunmoon_door3

This was a fun project and one I plan to revisit!

Have a great weekend! – – Joanne

5 thoughts on “Repurposed Door Coat Racks

  1. Pingback: Reuse ~ Repurpose ~ Upcycle | Joanne Inspired

Leave a Reply

