Vintage Stained Glass Window Obsession

Hello. I did not fall off the face of the Earth – I’ve been kept hopping these past few weeks since school started back. As the ITRT/Tech Coordinator, I’ve been kept busy ironing out glitches with our new online grading, website and email system . . .

But, enough of my whining . . .

Old Pearly Jenkins pillow photo bomb :)

Old Pearly Jenkins pillow photo bomb 🙂

I started collecting vintage stained glass windows in the 1990s. They weren’t too much on the radar and reasonably inexpensive. I’m embarrassed to say it became an obsession.

I’ve tried to capture the hues of the glass, but with sunlight shining through, the photos are not the best quality (sorry).

Originally from Victorian England, I like to use these windows as repurposed (or is it reused?) blinds or curtains. They add privacy, don’t block the light and are visually pretty.

My favorite is a large 28″ X 46″ (72 cm X 117 cm) stained glass window that was hung in the living room. I remember paying $45. I purchased this set from a stuffy warehouse about 20 years ago.

lroom-stainedglass

I love how the sun shines through the colorful pebbled glass.

lroom-stainedglass-lg

In the kitchen I use two different styles. One set was refitted to metal framing (makes them much lighter in weight).

kitchen-stainglass-2

But, I really like the jewel tones in the window over the sink.

kitchen-stainglass-sink

But, of course there is a set in the dining room. They really sparkle when the chandelier is lit. (This light fixture is original to our home and I can’t bear to remove it).

dinerm-stainglass-light

Last, the guest room windows are set in their original (sanded) wooden frames. This room needs a MAJOR re-do. But, I’ll keep the windows for another room. 🙂

guestroom-stainglass

So what do you think? A sickness? It really isn’t too bad. Afterall, there are over 25 windows in our home; it could be a LOT worse. LOL.

Have a good week! – – Joanne

One thought on “Vintage Stained Glass Window Obsession

Leave a Reply

