Tin Can Repurpose: Organize Art Tools

Me thinks summer is at end. It was 70ºF (21ºC) this morning, a bit breezy, Saw Man wants to cover the pool and winter coats are on sale. *sigh*  I guess it’s time to de-clutter, organize and start putting things away; especially in my Art Dreamspace room.  I need to organize my small hand-held tools and Pinterest has a TON of ideas.  I decided to repurpose tin cans – my favorite old “go to” standby. I’ve used tin cans for art projects, wedding décor, punched lanterns and now to organize my small hand-helds.

can-done

Clean vegetable tin cans and a worn Lazy Susan I purchased from the Goodwill Store fit my needs. For the cans I needed decorative papers, a ruler/pencil, Washi tape, brush, scissors and Mod Podge.

can-materials2

The Lazy Susan was spray painted with Valspar Satin Whipped Apricot, a buttery yellow. It was in such bad condition, that it took four coats.

can-LSusan

I laid the can on its side, measured how much decorative paper I’d need to wrap completely around it and glued it on with a lot of Mod Podge.

can-measure2

I added cutouts and Washi tape for contrast.

can-decoratives

I like to remove a can now and then to use at different work areas.

can-shelf

But, they could be glued or screwed to the Lazy Susan for stability. This is such an inexpensive, creative and great way to repurpose – not to mention that this room is getting a much needed Fall de-clutter!

Have a good week! – – Joanne

3 thoughts on “Tin Can Repurpose: Organize Art Tools

  1. Pingback: Craft Room -aka – Art Dream Workspace | Joanne Inspired

Leave a Reply

