DIY Paint Storage/Book Shelf :: DIY Chalk Paint


After taking care of my small craft paint storage problem, it was time to organize my larger paint pots, stains, waxes, brushes and tapes. My limitations were that the room is small, I didn’t want to spend a lot of money and it needed to be within reach of my easel.

shelf-front

This was a quick and cheap DIY project. The only thing I had to buy were the bun feet. I used scrap lumber (from Sewing Nook project), four purchased bun feet and an assortment of free paint samples. The shelf consists of the basic top/bottom and sides with one shelf and a thin back piece. I wiped the wood down, but did not sand or scrape any old paint off. While not a fine piece, it def suits my needs!

shelf-raw

Once built, I added two coats of chalk paint. Using a basic chalk paint recipe, I mixed paint samples that I got during a Valspar summer give-away with calcium carbonate.

chalk paint

I painted the bookshelf Valspar’s Woodlawn Sterling. I painted a combo of Tropical Oasis Blue and Brushed Almond on the inner side walls and back board.

shelf-innerup

.

shelf-top

After the paint dried, I brushed on a really thin coat of Briwax letting it dry overnight. In the morning, I buffed with a soft cloth. I sanded some of the edges for a worn look, but not too much.

shelf-side

I’m so happy with my new paint storage/book shelf. I love it when everything is in its proper place. 🙂

Have a good week! – Joanne

One thought on “DIY Paint Storage/Book Shelf :: DIY Chalk Paint

  1. Pingback: Craft Room -aka – Art Dream Workspace | Joanne Inspired

Leave a Reply

