Chalk Paint Shelf :: Easy Graphic Transfer Method

I had a pine settle bench shelf needing a little TLC.

sbench-raw

B E F O R E

sbench-side

A F T E R

It had squirrels and nuts painted on the sides. Yep, squirrels. Looked like a job begging for chalk paint! Chalk paint is so forgiving and there is no prep. I mix my own chalk paint using calcium carbonate.

recipe

I used free Valspar paint samples to mix my chalk paint, painting the shelf two coats of Valspar Ultra White and Valspar Glass TileΒ for the drawers.

But, the shelf still needed “something.”

The Graphics Fairy has wonderful graphic and topography designs. I decided to use the French Wreath with Bee transfer.

sbench-frontΒ 

There are many ways to transfer a graphic onto fabric or wood. I chose the easy way: wax paper taped to a sheet of printer paper to help feed it through an inkjet printer. Once printed, I laid the wax paper over the wood and rubbed my finger over the image to transfer the graphic on to the wood.

sbench-topo

You have to be careful not to shift the wax paper! I used a damp Q-tip to wipe away smudges.

sbench-open

Once dry, I added a thin layer of Minwax, then buffed after 24-hours. I can’t keep everything, so I’ll list this little shelf in my Etsy shop. It would make a nice organization piece for a desk or kitchen counter.

Have a good week! – – Joanne

3 thoughts on “Chalk Paint Shelf :: Easy Graphic Transfer Method

  1. Pingback: Repurposed Beer Bucket | Joanne Inspired

  2. Pingback: DIY Farmhouse Bedside Table :: Done! | Joanne Inspired

  3. Pingback: Mistakes & Happy Endings: DIY Farmhouse Nightstand | Joanne Inspired

Leave a Reply

