Repurposed Beer Bucket


wpail-done
This shabby pail was created from one of the saved beer buckets from our daughter’s DIY Vintage Rustic Wedding. The only item I purchased was the spray paint.  It was a quick project and was super easy.

:<>::<>::<>:

Breakdown:

Time: 45 minutes (add additional drying times)

Cost: $2.49 (spray paint)

Difficulty: Super Easy!

:<>::<>::<>:

Supplies:

bucket

Rust-o-Leum Hammered 7213 Silver spray paint

Behr Brushed Almond homemade chalk paint

foam brush

The Graphics Fairy typography

wax paper

tape

inkjet printer

dark brown Briwax

clean rag

:<>::<>::<>:

To achieve this shabby look, I covered the blue island-themed (not a favorite) pail . . . 

Corona, anyone? ;)

Corona, anyone? 😉

. . . with two coats of silver Rust-O-Leum Hammered spray paint, leaving the interior untouched.

wpail-silver

Next, I roughly dry-brushed the pail with creamy chalk paint left over from another project (Chalk Paint Shelf::Easy Graphic Transfer  Method).

wpail-white

Once the paint dried, I transferred a graphic I found at The Graphics Fairy.

wpail-graphicclose

To give the pail an “aged” look, I lightly “wiped on, wiped off” a dark wax with a soft cloth and let it dry overnight. I didn’t worry about uniformity; just slapped it on. The wax appears darker in some areas and that’s okay. :).

wpail-wax

I like how some blue from the original design peeks through here and there.

wpail-before after

What do you think? I have 6 more beer buckets. Any suggestions?

Have a good week! – – Joanne

8 thoughts on “Repurposed Beer Bucket

  1. You did a fabulous job making the bucket look like an authentic old one. I just found your blog yesterday and I can’t wait to peruse all the past posts. When I saw what you did, I thought of the galvanized maple sap buckets I have in the basement. I think I’d like to transfer the names of towns in northern Michigan and northern Wisconsin on the sap buckets and then use them for holding paint brushes, etc. over my drawing desk. Thanks for the idea.
    -Ginene

    • This blog goes where it flows, making room in my head for more whimsies. So, here you are! I’d be HAPPY. To make you one. 🙂

Leave a Reply

