DIY Farmhouse Bedside Table :: Done!

I finally completed one of the DIY farmhouse-shabby chic bedside tables for our bedroom update. I think it turned out rather nice; if I say so myself. 😀  

wp-nstand-donefront

Using a Pinterest image and a table that I had seen at a boutique as inspiration; I adapted the two ideas to an Ana White farmhouse table plan.

green-white-table

Saw Man and I recycled wood and a few purchased pieces of pine to build this farmhouse shabby chic bedside table. First we built the table. Lot of unfinished rough wood.

wp-nstand-open drawer 

I sanded, then used a rag to wipe on Minwax Early American stain. I gave it 24 hours to dry. After the stain, I applied one coat of Miss Mustard Seed milk paint (a mixture of Linen, French Enamel and Luckett’s Green) and let it dry 24-hours.

nstand-paint-swatch

Next, I painted the table with two coats of white chalk paint I made using Valspar Ultra White latex paint sample; letting it dry between coats. You can find the chalk paint recipe here if you’re so inclined. After each coat of paint dried, I distressed the table using a flat paint scraper, sand paper and a damp course scrub sponge.  I wanted it to look like layers of years of paint. 

wp-nstand-paint distressclose

The final step was to brush on a thin layer of Minwax furniture wax, then buff it off after 24-hours and add the hardware. 

wp-nstand-knobclose

I learned a lot working with this first table.  It wasn’t hard to build this bedside table, the worst part (because I’m impatient) was the drying times. But, no worries, it is worth it.

wp-nstand-donesideup

.

wp-nstand-handle

With my new skills I’m ready to tackle another table for the other side of the bed. 😀

 wp-nstand-side paint

::Project Breakdown::

Cost: pine & screws $32.89; paint sample $2.98; 2 glass knobs $6.74; 2 metal handles $1.98  (all other supplies I had on hand)  Total: $44.59

Time: 6.5 hours (2.5 hours to build, 4 hours to stain, paint, wax – not counting drying times)

Difficulty: Easy-Intermediate (I needed help with the power saws)

wp-nstand-doneftside

.

wp-nstand-donesidelkdown

Have a good week! – – Joanne

12 thoughts on “DIY Farmhouse Bedside Table :: Done!

  1. Joanne,
    I really like the table design, but I am inspired by the realistic look of age that you were able to accomplish. This is what I have tried to do in the past with only partial success. I will follow your instructions next time. I wish I had a place to spray paint with because I would like to paint 1930s style. It was almost like air brushing with three to four color layers. Fabulous. I think you’ve got this down.
    Ginene

    • Thank you, Ginene. I find it easier to judge if I scrape or sand in-between coats, so that each layer has its own degree of distress making it look a little more authentic. I’m not very good with spray paint – I don’t have control and I’m too messy. I’ve seen a lot of milk or chalk paint classes advertised, but never spray paint. LOL: maybe you should offer classes at your store? 🙂

      • Yes, I want to do that. But the kind of spray paint I want to learn is not the aerosol can type, but with a professional paint sprayer. That would mean a room with a dedicated paint booth. I could do that in the old coal room of this building. But I would have to carry the furniture (I live alone.) down 17 stairs to the basement and that is the obstacle to overcome. I’ll send you a picture next week of the kind of furniture finish I’m talking about. It was done by professional furniture painters in the 1930’s. It is really cool. It wouldn’t be any different than what companies use to paint furniture now except that it has four layers of color which makes for a very beautiful finish. But, getting the furniture down and up again, I don’t know about that…

      • You’re absolutely right! {LOL} What you do is so my style — it’s warm, homey, snuggle up to the fire with the cat (or fill in the blanks) 😉 an afghan, a good book—PERFECT ! And when we do it ourselves (with Hubbie’s help– counts too!) then it’s so much more special. Beautiful work of art. TFS.

  2. Pingback: Bedroom Revamp Plans | Joanne Inspired

  3. Pingback: DIY Bedside Table :: Sneak Peek | Joanne Inspired

  4. Pingback: Mistakes & Happy Endings: DIY Farmhouse Nightstand | Joanne Inspired

Leave a Reply

