Sewing Machine Cozy


I’m enjoying a ‘use-it-or-lose-it’ day off today. *happy sigh* A perfect day to catch up on small incomplete projects. In March, I posted about our Bedroom Revamp Plans.

I love the clean look of a white cotton matelassé paired with a patchwork quilt. Well, I found the matelassé . All that was missing was the quilt. I didn’t want a mass-produced quilt; yet I didn’t want to break the bank on an antique quilt, either. What’s a girl to do? Why, sew her own quilt, of course. While it is taking a little longer than I thought, I am so determined to complete this project. It will get done. I promise. LOL.

clockwise:

clockwise: Coastal Living; I Didn’t Say Banana; The Sometimes Crafter; BHG.com


Because of my on-going quilt project, I now have quite a collection of fabric scraps. Hmm.
 My sewing machine needed a cover (cozy). What better way to practice learning how to piece and quilt? Now remember . . .  I’m learning. You’ll see my mistakes right away (hint: spools). 😕 But, I learned a good deal doing this little project:

Sewing Machine Cozy
sew-front


Take Measurements

Measure the length of your machine; include the hand wheel on the side.


sew-measure1

Next, measure top to bottom
sew-measure2

Last, measure the width across the top
sew-measure3

** At this point, you can make a sewing machine cozy using fabric, recycled jeans, dish towels . . . just follow your own measurements. Since I wanted to practice piecing and quilting the following instructions are for a quilted cozy.

Front Section & Quilted Spools
I made a pattern and pieced five separate sewing spools using scraps.

sew-spoolThe spool squares were sewn side-to side, with a strip of black gingham added to the top and bottom (see #1 in image below).

sew-front-123
For the front section six 2.5 x 3″ (6.35 x 7.62cm) fabric scrap rectangles were sewn end-to-end; making one long patchwork strip. I repeated this step again, making two strips.   Next, I pinned the strips right sides together, lengthwise and sewed a 1/4″ (.63cm) seam. This made the top patchwork above the spools (see image #2, above).
I repeated step #2 and sewed two more patchwork strips for the bottom of the spools (see image #3, above).

Back Section
Following the same instructions as the front (see image #2, above), this time I sewed six separate patchwork strips together, basically sewing a rectangular piece of fabric. Using the width and length measurements I cut the back section pattern out. I learned I need to practice cutting and sewing each piece precisely in order to match the edges evenly.


sew-back


 Top & Side Sections

Using my measurements, I cut one continuous piece of fabric to fit the sides and across the top. Although not necessary, I made a pattern to free up the handle.


sew-top pattern

sew-top


 Putting It All Together

I pinned the front and top section right sides together and sewed a 1/4″ (.63cm) seam allowance.
Next, I pinned the right sides of the back section to the other side of the top section and sewed a 1/4″ (.63cm) seam allowance.   At this point you could hem the bottom and be done. I decide to add black gingham piping to the bottom.


::<>::<>::<>::<>::<>::


I am definitely a novice to quilting. I’ve got a long way to go. However, I learned from my mistakes — like not cutting off the edge of the spools. : )  I’m a little more confident and ready to continue tackling that bed quilt project — which is on hold while we continue to work on the Family Room this week. 

sew-front

Have a good week! – – Joanne

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Sewing Machine Cozy

  1. Joanne, you are awesome. Your pattern can be used for making a toaster cover, mixer cover, juicer cover, on and on. I have a 1910 Singer and I need to make a nice cover like this and throw out the plastic bag!

    • Wow, a 1910 Singer is like a work of art! Does it still operate? My sister has my grandmother’s – I think it’s from the 1940’s.

Leave a Reply

