Family Room: Removing Built-in Shelving & Bugs

The surf and sun are beckoning.

Nine days until summer break.

How do we keep students on task?

How about the arrival of teeny, tiny baby praying mantis?

bugs

It was amazing to watch. They do look horribly scary, though. πŸ™‚

The Deadly mantis, Universal Studios, 1957

The Deadly Mantis, Universal Studios, 1957

We are slowly making progress in the Family Room. We’ve set a goal for each weekend and last week, we tackled removing the built-in bookshelves so that the new floor could be installed.
tvrm-fplaceshelf

Removing them was a delicate operation as we didn’t want to ruin the wood paneled walls. Our carefulness actually doubled the outcome: the walls only needed minor patching and the shelves were re-usable.

tvrm-wallshelf

Douley Photo Bomb

With new crown molding, a bit of wood putty, sanding and two coats of paint, one section went to our daughter, the other to our niece.
tvrm-girls
I plan to use the other sections in a future project. I am so happy that we were able to reuse these wood shelves!Β 
Next weekend we hope to start on the hardwood floor installation.

:<>::<>::<>:

Keep me in good thoughts . . . the natives are getting restless. πŸ˜‰

Family Room: Part 1, Part 2, Part 3, Part 5, Part 6

Have a good week! – – Joanne

8 thoughts on “Family Room: Removing Built-in Shelving & Bugs

  1. Yes, Joanne, having book cases built were (20 years ago) 1000.00 to build one unit so it is great that you saved them. Did I ever tell you I was a school secretary for 21 years? I loved that job. It was at two different schools.

    Anyway, I know what you mean about those praying mantis. I think they like morning glories because when I had a huge, and I mean huge, planting of them one year, I saw an adult near the top. It SLOWLY turned its head and looked at me and then cocked his head. It gave me the heebie-jeebies. I have no idea of how that is spelled. I read that they can grab a humming bird out of the air.

    I think I would have to put that creature somewhere down on the bottom of the list of all the animals, etc,. that I think are charming.

    Steady on with the restless natives….I worked in a 700 student school in Wisconsin with no air-conditioning for 13 years. There is nothing like a hot day at school with no air.

    Well, we didn’t have A/C in grade school at St. Norbert’s when I was a kid and we all survived (except for the weekly faintings.) I used to feel so sorry for the nuns in their long black habits with their heads and necks and arms all covered. They never seemed to perspire though. They all deserve to go to Heaven just for the enduring that! I remember warm milk and sweaty boys.

    • Ginene,
      I remember years ago, a very large mantis lived on the gardenia by our front door. I don’t know what possessed my Dad to pick it up. It bit the heck out of his finger. Bloody mess. Their jaws look like saw blades.

      Had to laugh at the memory of sitting in school without A/C. How did we all manage? Now-a-days, schools close if the A/C is on the blink. Oh well, teachers & nuns could whack students, too. Ah, the good ‘ol days. πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: Family Room: Fireplace & TV & Built-in Shelving | Joanne Inspired

  3. Pingback: Best Laid Plans or Better Known As: Plan B | Joanne Inspired

  4. Pingback: Family Room: Mold Removal | Joanne Inspired

  5. Pingback: Family Room: New Wall, New Floor, Wine | Joanne Inspired

  6. Pingback: Family Room :: Family :: Busy Weekend | Joanne Inspired

  7. Pingback: Family Room: Fireplace Built-ins | Joanne Inspired

Leave a Reply

