Mistakes & Happy Endings: DIY Farmhouse Nightstand


“We don’t make mistakes, just happy little accidents.”– Bob Ross

ft-nstand-front1
I’ve been chompin’ to get started on the second night stand for my Bedroom Revamp, but repairing the water-damaged Family Room took precedence. Finally, last weekend we were able to get going, using the same basic pattern as the first bedside table we made.

 

Instead of a tray top, I designed this piece to look like a vintage wash stand.  With wood and supplies left from the other table, I only needed to purchase two glass knobs and sand paper. Once built, I stained it with Minwax Early American and let it dry overnight.

ft-nstand-stain

I mixed my favorite Miss Mustard Seed milk paints and covered the night stand in two coats.

nstand-paint-swatch

It is hard to tell in this photo, but the paint is a light blue.

ft-nstand-blue

Next, I painted the night stand with two coats of home-made white chalk paint. (Here’s my chalk paint recipe if your interested).

ft-nstand-wite

Thinking it looked a tad “too bright white,” I decided that a dark wax would give it an aged look.

::<>::<>::<>::

I absolutely hated it – so much that there are no known photos of the travesty. Out came the sander. The wax was was removed. So was a lot of paint. Argh!!

::<>::<>::<>::

Back to square one: I dipped a Q-tip and re-applied stain on the edges of the night stand.
ft-nstand-stainedge
The next day, I re-applied the white chalk pant and roughed the edges a little.


ft-nstand-srepaint

This night stand didn’t turn out the way I envisioned, and there’s not much blue paint left to peak through. 


ft-nstand-slant
Overall I’m happy with this different result.

ft-nstand-front1

Well, I’ve learned three things. One: Ana White’s furniture plans are the bomb! Two: I just might need a little schooling when it comes to using dark wax. 🙂 Three: That “it’s all good” – even mistakes can turn into happy endings.


I would absolutely love to know if you’ve ever made a mistake that resulted in a happy ending?

Have a good week! — Joanne

5 thoughts on “Mistakes & Happy Endings: DIY Farmhouse Nightstand

  1. Joanne,
    I just made an interesting mistake that turned out pretty good. I applied a coat of water-based Zinsser primer over a heavily polyurethaned piece of furniture. To my delight, after I applied the flat latex, it was all chippy like milk paint. I was quite surprised and think I’m on to something. Maybe other people have done it, I’m not sure, haven’t seen it. I applied clear wax over that and all weekend people in the shop assumed it was milk paint. (?) I’ll probably show it on my blog page this week. I’d like your opinion.
    Ginene

    • Ginene,
      I’ve never seen this type of technique. II’m looking forward to reading and viewing photos of this piece of furniture. I’m always looking for new painting styles.Sounds like you ARE on to something! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Bedroom Revamp Plans | Joanne Inspired

  3. I love Ana White’s plans! You created such a cute table! I think your painting and distressing turned out perfectly…looks as if you planned it.

    • Thank you, Wendy! After all the time and labor spent, I do believe I this bedside table better than the first one we made. 🙂

Leave a Reply

