Family Room :: Family :: Busy Weekend

tvrm-salvagewooddrive

I am grateful for free, salvage hardwood that matches our 50-year-old oak floors.

I am.

Really.

However, every single blasted piece had to be inspected and scrubbed. A hot, wet, dirty job.

tvrm-floorprogress

 

tvrm-floordone1

.

Some of these old boards are warped, chipped . . . but to us it looks fantabulous!

tvrm-fire

 

This is what we do with non-salvageable wood.

sand1

 

This weekend, our nephew and niece visited with their three little ones.

We be busy!

Doggie Pool = Instant Sandbox!

Making garden stones . . .

sand2

.

 My nephew, Carl, helped remove the old 1970’s brass fire place front.

tvrm-oldfplace

tvrm-duringfireplace

We have special plans for the fireplace, which I hope to share soon.

What did you do this weekend?

Family Room: Part 1, Part 2, Part 3, Part 4, Part 6

Have a good week!! – – Joanne

 

8 thoughts on “Family Room :: Family :: Busy Weekend

    • Thank you, Ginene! I do love my new floor (if you’d seen the wall-to-wall. eeew. gross.). I’m so glad we were able to do this. But, I don’t think I’d like to work with salvaged flooring again. It was way too hard work for George and I. I think we’re just getting too old. 😉

  1. Pingback: Family Room: Fireplace & TV & Built-in Shelving | Joanne Inspired

  2. Pingback: Best Laid Plans or Better Known As: Plan B | Joanne Inspired

  3. Pingback: Family Room: Mold Removal | Joanne Inspired

  4. Pingback: Family Room: New Wall, New Floor, Wine | Joanne Inspired

  5. Pingback: Family Room: Removing Built-in Shelving & Bugs | Joanne Inspired

  6. Pingback: Family Room: Fireplace Built-ins | Joanne Inspired

Leave a Reply

