Nine-Patch Quilt & Dad’s Day

I hope Fathers everywhere were able to spend time with their families this past weekend.  Our family traveled to one daughter and son-in-law’s rural home to spend a lovely day outdoors. 

photo 1

photo3

photo 2

A patchwork quilt is on our bedroom makeover wish list. An antique quilt was out of my range and I couldn’t find a store-bought one I liked.

So . . . I decided to learn how to make one. Definitely a labor of love/hate.

🙂 / 😦

quilt-bed

So how does one who has never made a quilt start?

A lot of Internet searching, quilt books and trips to guild stores for advice. I found an excellent video that explains how to create a quick and easy nine-patchwork quilt.

 

quilt-scrunch

The quick nine patch quilt method comprises sewing several fabric strips together vertically lengthwise, then cutting horizontally across the sewn strips which saves time and makes piecing so much easier.

quilt-hangover

My quilt is rather large, so I was looking at approximately $250 USD to have it professionally machine quilted by the guild. Hmm. Hey, I might as well go all the way and learn how to machine quilt, right? I purchased a walking foot for my sewing machine and quilted straight lines and “stitch in the ditch.”

quilt-stitch

I found The Little Red Hen Blog’s binding tutorial simple and easy to understand.

 

quilt-underside

It has taken me three months to make, I know it’s not a work of art, there are many mistakes . . .

. . . But, “somebody” likes it and I am stoked that I actually made a quilt!

 

quilt-catlike

Have a good week! – – Joanne

4 thoughts on “Nine-Patch Quilt & Dad’s Day

  1. Oh Joanne,
    This is absolutely lovely. At first, I thought it was an antique quilt and then I saw the modern fabric and I have to say, I am impressed with how pretty the colors and patterns are individually and when combined. I like this quilt more than any other modern combination I have seen. You really nailed it. Three months is actually very quick for a quilt, I think. I have taken quilts to Ohio to be quilted by Amish women when my sister lived there. It was not expensive (100.00) but that was in the 1990s. The thing about machine quilting is that you can put it in the washing machine and it will hold up. Hand quilting will, too, but it makes me a little nervous. Finding someone to quilt the quilt was the most fun because we had a reason to go to farmhouse doors and that was fascinating. My sister and I met an elderly women with five way-over-middle-age unmarried daughters who were canning on a hot summer day. The kitchen wood range was boiling and roiling with big kettles of steaming water and there were no screens. They were all dressed in long sleeve black skirts and blouses and they had big rings of perspiration underneath their arms. It really made an impression on me because this is how all our ancestors lived at one time. Well, I am totally off subject now, but I wanted to tell you that I am crazy about your gorgeous new quilt.

    • Thank you for the nice compliment, Ginene! I wanted to put it in the washing machine to soften it up (not too fond of stiff quilts) but was afraid of ruining the batting. Like I said; I’m still learning. Didn’t know that I could put it in the washing machine if it was machine quilted. And about those dark long sleeve dresses . . . after today’s heat, I am sooo glad to live with indoor plumbing, cool showers and air conditioning. 🙂

  2. Thank you Jenny! It’s nice to receive encouragement. I’m working up the steam to attempt another one. They say, “Practice makes perfect.” 🙂

Leave a Reply

