Simple Muslin Tie-Up Shade

Desiring something very simple for our bedroom windows, I found my inspiration from the pages of Beach Cottages magazine. I can’t find this magazine online, but it lists Harris Publications, Inc. in the editor credits. 

muslin-mag

After scrutinizing the magazine images, I designed a pattern which consisted of two basic sections with tie ups.

muslin-pattern 1

muslin-pattern 2

muslin-pattern 3

The tie up shade was super easy to make. I used muslin left from my daughter and son-in-law’s wedding. So there was no cost.

.
What an outdated 90’s window treatment.

muslin-before

muslin-done

It’s difficult photographing this window. But, I think you get the general idea. I’ve been experimenting with a bamboo rod or a section of rope tied to vintage hooks or metal cleats. Just piddling around with ideas. What do you think? Bamboo? Rope? Something else? I’m open to suggestions. 🙂

reveal-bedrm-shades

Have a good week! – – Joanne

4 thoughts on “Simple Muslin Tie-Up Shade

    • Thank you, Ruth! They were very simple and easy to make. I moved the stained glass to another room. I bought most of our collection from an antique dealer 20 years ago – when it was cheaper to do so. He had purchased a huge pallet of salvaged windows & doors collected from UK homes. The stories I wish they could tell.

Leave a Reply

