Budget White Kitchen Makeover – Part 2

My sister has narrowed down the idea choices for her budget white kitchen makeover. Sort of farmhouse modern.

inspiration board

With consideration to salvaging what we could and adding extra storage, we drew up a basic plan (amateurs).  😉 

blue print 2

 

She chose Behr ‘Bleached Linen’ for the cabinets and ‘Salt Glaze’ for the walls, white subway tile for the backsplash, Mohawk laminate flooring and Wilsonart ‘Typhoon Ice’ premium laminate counters. These choices are moderate – but it all adds up very quickly!

To help stretch our budget power, we  covered the 24 gold tone cabinet hinges and a rusty vintage bread box drawer (how cool is that?) with Rust-O-Leum ‘Hammer’ spray paint which dries to a galvanized look.

hinges

 

bread box

 

To gain more counter space without losing too much storage, the wall oven cabinet was cut to counter height and the top half removed. A plywood and pine open box cabinet unit replaced the original wall oven upper cabinet. 

brown wall oven - gone!

brown wall oven – gone!

 

during1 a

In the original drop in stove top area, a cabinet, the old laminate counter and the copper backsplash were removed to make room for a new cook range.  The lower cabinet was one long section. We added plywood to each side. 

brown drop in stove top & copper tile - gotta go!

brown drop in stove top & copper tile – gotta go!

 

during 3 a

 

Under the original short refrigerator cabinet, a new plywood and pine open box cabinet unit adds symmetry and additional storage. Additional counter space and a dishwasher cabinet box were added to the right of the new sink and faucet.

portable dishwasher - gotta go!

portable dishwasher – gotta go!

 

during 2a

 

A bookshelf cabinet box was added at the end of the counter, next to the dishwasher area – no space was wasted! 

during 2b

 

There’s still a LOT to do. We took a break for our beautiful niece’s ‘The Big 13’ birthday, Independence Day on July 4th and Hurricane Arthur passing by in the Atlantic. So, what’s left?      . . . flooring, lighting, cabinet hardware, wall shelving, window treatments . . .  🙂 We’re keeping our fingers crossed that there are no surprises with the electrical requirements – as an older home you just never know until you open up the walls. :/ I think that my sister, George and I (and even our lovely nieces) make one heck of a makeover team! We are on a roll so I hope you’ll check back to see our progress.

Happy Independence Day! Have a good week! – – Joanne

Budget White Kitchen Makeover Part 1, Part 3, Part 4

 

 

14 thoughts on “Budget White Kitchen Makeover – Part 2

  1. Pingback: Budget White Kitchen Makeover – Part 1 | Joanne Inspired

  2. I can’t believe how much you’ve accomplished since your last post. It is wonderful!!! What a change! I had a cookbook shelf just like your sister does…but later, I sorted through my cookbooks and only kept my favorites. Then I put my microwave on the cookbook shelf and it just fit. I needed the counter space. And I never missed the cookbooks; I realized I only used my favorite ones anyway. You all make a wonderful family team and are making memories, plus showing the girls they can do things are their own. Bravo!

    • Ha! You are so right on, Ginene. I think most people repeat the same recipes. But, I’m sure she’ll find some use for the shelves. 🙂 My sister and I are off for the summer and George took last week off. We worked long hours, every day. The kitchen doesn’t have an open soffit – just looked like it because the previous owner had nailed shelving above the cabinets. Still have a ways to go, but we’re getting there.

    • Thank you! At first I was a little apprehensive, but this laminate counter has actually turned out to be one of my favorite features of the kitchen makeover. Laminate counters have come along way. I was amazed by the choices in design, texture, edge and color. Definitely an improvement and worth looking into. Thanks again for commenting! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Easy #DIY Key Rack | Joanne Inspired

  4. Thank you for sharing this project! We are in the process of buying an older home, and I can’t wait to transform the kitchen! The work y’all are doing is beautiful–I hope my project turns out half as well.

    • Fran, thank you for the nice compliment! It’s amazing what just a coat of paint can do. 🙂 The best part of this project, to me, is how open and light the kitchen is now. Thanks for stopping by. – Joanne

  5. Wow – who knew my daughters could wield hammers, saws, paint brushes so well ! It is a straight genetic trait from their grandfather . He would be proud !

  6. Pingback: Budget White Kitchen Makeover – Part 3 | Joanne Inspired

  7. Pingback: Budget White Kitchen Makeover – Part 4 | Joanne Inspired

  8. Pingback: Budget White Kitchen Makeover – Part 3 | Joanne Inspired

Leave a Reply

