Family Room: Fireplace & TV & Built-in Shelving

We’re back to working in our Family Room. It’s been a while. We plan to add three separate shelving/built-ins. We’ve built, primed and painted the first section (on a back wall) over the last two weekends. 

TVRM-newsingleshelf1

Why three sections of built-ins? It’s amazing how much “stuff” we’ve accumulated over the years – and what I can’t, won’t ever part with:

An iron doorstop gift from dear friends, wedding tobacco jar, my children's books and clay bowl, my great grandmother's ice cream churn, my other great grandmother's wood sewing box

An iron doorstop gift from dear friends, wedding tobacco jar gift, my children’s books and clay bowl, my great grandmother’s ice cream churn, my other great grandmother’s wood sewing box

Douley is OVER this reno mess!

Douley is so over this reno mess!

Before the water damage; this room was well-used: TV, game boards, toys, wii – you name it. We’re adding lower cabinet storage and upper shelves on either side of the fireplace and the TV (gasp) above the mantel. The Barker Cabinets have finally arrived and we can start on the shelving/built-in sections. Our inspiration:

 

fplace_6thstreetdesignschool-blogspot_com

(source)

fplace_cwb

(source)

fplace_decorpad 2

(source)

fplace_brithappiness

(source)

fplace_decorpad1

(source)

fplace_patshankle

(source)

fplace_susamglickinteriors

(source)

Of course, these are our dream ideas. We’ll see what reality brings. 🙂 

Have a good week! – – Joanne

Family Room: Part 1, Part 2, Part 3, Part 4, Part 5

 

9 thoughts on “Family Room: Fireplace & TV & Built-in Shelving

  1. Pingback: Family Room: Removing Built-in Shelving & Bugs | Joanne Inspired

  2. Pingback: Family Room :: Family :: Busy Weekend | Joanne Inspired

  3. Pingback: Family Room: New Wall, New Floor, Wine | Joanne Inspired

  4. Pingback: Family Room: Mold Removal | Joanne Inspired

  5. Wow, I love the Barker cabinets, Joanne, they are a lovely addition. Of course, the shelves that George will build and attach to the wall above , will make it complete. George builds according to your plans, designs. The room is looking great – new hardwood floors, paint, etc.

    • Thank you, Mom. Slowly, but surely it’ll get done. I’m excited about the Barker cabinets, too. . . Except the part where I have to paint them. Eh.

  6. Joanne, The built-ins are really fabulous. To me a living room with a fireplace just HAS to have those to look right. I love that style. Just love it! I had them once and I’ll never forget how hard it was to paint the insides when they were new. Coat after coat, but you surely will be using better paint than I had back then. I was pretty young. After they were built and painted, I realized I had nothing to put in them. Nothing. This room is going to be wonderful. I’m really “into” this project of yours so whenever I see another post, I look forward to it. There is a little thing called work that gets in the way of what we get to do.
    -Ginene

    • You are so right about the painting part of this project, Ginene. There are five to six coats of primer and paint on this first section. This is not a large room; typical paneled 70’s den. Anywhere we can fit in storage is a plus. The weather hasn’t cooperated this weekend, so no painting. We instead worked on a little project for our daughter. 🙂

  7. Pingback: Family Room: Fireplace Built-ins | Joanne Inspired

Leave a Reply

