Beach Cabanas and Hillibillies

We are ‘smack dab’ in the middle of summer, as Grandmother Lillian would say. It’s a hot and lazy time of year; best spent at the shore.

Lillian Mae, Bathing Beauty, 1980(c)

Lillian Mae, Bathing Beauty, c. 1980

The nearby Bay and Ocean were my inspiration for this quilted cabana-themed table runner.  

beach cabana 1

Cabanas are not used in our locale, so I had to scour the internet for images. From what I gather, “cabaña” originates from Spain and means “a small cabin or tent-like structure used as a bath house, especially on a beach or by a swimming pool.”

cabana table

Oh my goodness, we are such hillbillies. We just show up in our swimsuits, beach chair and blankets, drinks and snacks, sand buckets and shovels and have at it.  Buuuut, if  we did have a cabana, perhaps we wouldn’t cart home almost enough sand to fill a small sand box.  🙂 

cabana close

Have a good week! – – Joanne

8 thoughts on “Beach Cabanas and Hillibillies

    • Thank you, Ginene. I can’t really take credit for an original idea – I did see table runners featuring cabanas online. However, I can say that my own little bath houses are of my own design. I like that: “…painting with fabric.” I never thought of it that way, but you are right. Enjoy your day! 🙂

    • Ha! Thank you. Isn’t that funny? If you have a home to change in – why do you need a cabana, too? 🙂 They are interesting little buildings, though. Almost like a “tiny home.” Have a great day!

  1. How absolutely cute, cute, cute! “If” I only had a beach house. Framed wall art when its off the table. I love this. The details! Have you thought about entering it in a quilt art contest? It’s worth it!!

    • Thank you, Linda! Not ready for a show, though -still learning and have a long way to go. But I do appreciate the compliments. 😄

Leave a Reply

