Wild Horses Couldn’t Drag Me Away

What is it about girls and horses? I just completed my third horse quilt, with a fourth custom order for another. Don’t get me wrong. I very much appreciate the complimentary purchases. It’s just takes so darn long to complete. LOL.

horsequilt_pink_close2

The mustangs are sewn in a wild assortment of cotton scraps. The border and binding are sewn in pink as requested using Cotton and Steel’s “Penny Arcade X Dot” and “Honeymoon Porch.” Β 

horsequilt_pink_close

horsequilt_pink_trees

Just in time for one little girl’s Christmas! Hope she enjoys snuggling up in this warm quilt.

horsequilt_pink_crumple

horsequilt_pink_graystallion

Have a lovely Thanksgiving holiday! – – Joanne

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “Wild Horses Couldn’t Drag Me Away

  1. Oh my gosh, Joanne. I can see why anyone would want one of those. It is a stampede of individualized color and design. I’ve never seen a quilt anything like it before. How you matched the horses’ manes and tails to the quilting design is completely beyond me. Then you used fabric to look like muscle and to illustrate speed. You’ve blown my mind again.Holy Moley, Joanne.

    • Thanks, Ginene! I must admit it is fun to design and choose fabrics. It’s the teensy-tiny pieces that do my old hands in. LOL. One day I might make one for myself. πŸ˜‰

    • Thank you for the lovely compliment and the follow! Most of the piecing was done on my Juki (which I love). I used a zig-zag stitch on my old Brother Project Runway machine, which I find teed-dee-ous. LOL. I can’t take credit for the quilting. I don’t have a longarm and I was in a time crunch so I sent it out to a local quilt shop Sarah’s Thimble. They do an awesome job!
      Happy quilting, Joanne

Leave a Reply

